Excuse #26 for not exercising: I’m overwhelmed

Posted: March 12, 2010 in Confessions of the CEO, Excuses excuses..., Fitness

Warning – this is a rant.  Pure and simple.

I’m pissed off.  Not at anyone in particular but everything in general.

For months, my kids have been watching me run around from one bureaucratic station to the next, with my phone in hand, and my heart racing.  Why?  So I can run a very small business and generally live my life.   My astute 11-year-old son asked me yesterday why everything is so complicated and in trying to answer his question, it occurred to me.

Our society is akin to living in the same house with millions of people for 2000 years.  There is way too much clutter to navigate through and we don’t throw anything out.   More than anything we are cluttered with information and so called experts.   I’m supposed to be an expert in fitness and to an extent – I am, but what I’m increasingly becoming an expert in is wading through minutiae.

Anyway, I looked at my son, who is bright, already has a strong work ethic and is infinitely creative and he said, ‘well, I’m never going into business’ and it kinda broke my heart.  I come from a family of small business owners.  Business owners are dreamers – we don’t see things for what they are, but for what they could be.  Everyday we hold to the dream that we are adding value to society and people’s lives.   This is the small business mantra.

In my parent’s age, to grow a business you needed a good idea, a strong work ethic and devotion to your customers.  Those things still hold true, but now you also need to be an expert in new media, branding and marketing, business law, accounting, insurance, rental law, tax law, real estate law, ever changing government regulations, and municipal code requirements, to name just a few.  And to run a household, you need, oh don’t get me started…

But I’m no different, it seems that everyone I talk to, whether they are working or not, is so overwhelmed with the demands from everyday life that they are moments away from spontaneous combustion.

It’s death by a thousand cuts.

I read somewhere that the Mayans, every X amount of years, would forgive all debts, stop all wars, and begin fresh.   We have no way of knowing if that is true, but imagine if society had a reset button.  If we all decided: ok – as of 2012, we will purposefully erase all our knowledge – purge all our computers, burn all our documents, and start again.  It’s impossible, I know that… but when I consider how much new information has been made available, and more importantly – made to be relevant – I wonder – how the hell are my kids going to wade through all this clutter to find meaning in their own lives?

Comments
  1. Annette says:

    I just love your blog Sandy… it is so REAL :) and you are such a thinker and a writer and it has really made me step back and evaluate a few things.

    I love your rant, because it is so true. We chant “Simplify” , hold it as our mantra, but really we live “Complicated”. How do we wade through it all? I too worry for my children. We live in an age of “TOO MUCH INFORMATION!!!” We know everything about everybody and we can find information on just about everything in an instant. And there is some information out there that I really wish I didn’t know, you know???….

    I watched the movie “9” with my kids the other night and one line stuck in my head from it. “WE HAVE CREATED THE MACHINES AND IN THE END THE MACHINES HAVE DESTROYED US”. And I thought of all the ‘things’ we as humans have created and how they are destroying us. We don’t move enough, laugh enough, read enough, sleep enough, love enough…… why?? Because of all the STUFF….

    *sigh* Who is ranting now?? :) I think I need to punch a bag or something…..

    • hitgirl says:

      Thanks for your kind words Annette. As a parent, it is extremely challenging to navigate all this. It’s moving so unbelievably fast. This is why I hit things.

  2. Colleen says:

    I love your blog too! The things you write are so thought provoking and real!

  3. [...] and trucks driving in reverse – how can any of us really know what we want (please read: I’m-overwhelmed for more on that).  But I’ve had a lot of conversations lately and I hear people say – [...]

Leave a Reply

