Where the hell did that thought come from?

Posted: February 2, 2011 in Confessions of the CEO, Excuses excuses..., Fitness
Tags: , , ,

My mind, like most peoples, often meanders and does it’s thing while I’m busy doing something else.  A thousand thoughts can occur in a second most of which I’m not completely aware of.  The other day while I was training I noticed one particular thought as though I’d had it for the first time even though I’m quite sure that I’ve been thinking a variation of it for years.  It was:

“Not bad for 40 something”.

You know how it is – you’re oblivious to a thought until suddenly it becomes so loud that it demands your attention.  Since I’ve become aware of it, I’ve realized how I’ve used that thought to cap my training habits (ie: used it as an excuse) for the last couple of years.  Oops.

Now this thought could inspire a mid-life crisis but I think I’m gonna reframe it into something like this: “Did I train as hard and as well as I could have today?  Did I fuel my body as well as I could today?”

Everyone has self-limiting beliefs – sometimes they masquerade as being self-congratulatory.  I urge you to have a listen for yours.  You can’t change what you aren’t aware of.

In health,

Sandy

Comments
  1. Heidi says:

    I agree, but there is also wisdom in realizing that we aren’t 21 anymore. I know too many people who continually, and/or permanently, injure themselves because they don’t recognize the limits of their 40-something bodies. Exercise is for life and must adapt as we change and grow.

  2. hitgirl says:

    Thanks Heidi – of course – no need for recklessness.

    My point is that we may be a lot stronger than we think for a lot longer than we think – especially if we continue to challenge ourselves on a regular basis. A lot of the injuries that happen to 40-somethings happen because they sit on their duffs all week and then go hard for an hour or two on the weekends.

    I grew up believing that 40 was too old to do a lot of physical things. It’s not. We don’t have to limit ourselves because of some preconceived notion of what 40 (or 50 or 60) can and can’t do. Age by itself isn’t all important. What’s important is maintaining a consistent level of activity and being good to our bodies. At forty-something we can still be more fit next year than we are this year. So, why hold back?

    Sandy

    • Heidi says:

      perfectly said. As my (very, very fit) father always says: “If you want to be in good shape at 60, start working at it at 30″

      Yes, we need to keep it up and recognize our limits, but not use imaginary limits as an excuse.

  3. Benton says:

    Thx Sandy – find I let myself off the same way too, too often, but then I read or see a 40-something in amazing shape or able to do some incredible feat (within reason!). I agree the issue isn’t so much ability or possibility but rather just being wise in pushing too hard too fast. Consistent, steady is the way – and the challenge!

  4. hitgirl says:

    Benton – I’ve seen you train many times and you are one of those 40-somethings that inspire others to stay and be fit. That is probably why you let yourself off the hook a little. Afterall – you are more fit than the large majority of people at your or any age.

    No matter the age we can still – with safe and wise training techniques – push our limits and strive to reach our potential.

    I’ve got your number now Benton. Watch out.

  5. Lisa says:

    I recently hit that four-OH and for awhile it was “daunting” – but then I realized, I’m in better shape now than I was at twenty. I’m fitter, I’m leaner and I train harder than ever. I haven’t even hit the peak of what I’m possible of doing yet.
    Age is just a chronological measure of how long we’ve been on the blue marble. Nothing more.

Leave a Reply

