Christmas…check.

Posted: December 25, 2009 in Confessions of the CEO

Ok, I’m done with two hours to spare.  Christmas was/is awfully inconvenient this year, what with the growth of the gym and all that – and it has only been made more troublesome by the very complicated belief system my children now hold of Santa Claus.

Lucas, my 8-year-old, said yesterday that Santa really lives in Australia on a pig farm or something, which is as good a theory as any, except that it explains nothing.  This is how I think my kids are trying to frame the whole Santa thing:  He brings some presents, but not all – the parents obviously go shopping because the price tags are obviously on some presents – and if there was a Santa, why would the malls get so busy at Christmas?  Santa brings what he wants to the kids to have, not what they really want – that’s what parents do, which is why they are now handing me their Christmas lists.  However, even with that strong logic, it didn’t stop them from telling me in the midnight hour that what they REALLY want has changed (since my last visit to the mall).  Oh and Jasper, my soon to be eleven-year-old, says he still believes because of Lucas.   I think that’s adorable, but it doesn’t make any sense.  Do you or don’t you believe?  WHAT’S IT GONNA BE BOY?!

Clearly, I’m losing it.  That’s what happens when you go shopping on Christmas Eve.  Soon, I’ll have a glass of wine in hand, have the wonderful rouladen my mother prepared and be grateful that my family is happily and healthfully celebrating another Christmas.  A few hours later I’ll throw my exhausted self into bed with the hopes that Santa took care of what I missed.

Once again, you may ask – what is she going on about?  isn’t this supposed to be a fitness blog?  Be patient dear reader, one day it’ll all come together and be totally worth it.  In the meantime, here’s a sneak peak of the new look of the gym.

Merry Christmas,

Sandy

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    Sandy… love your blogs… you have a great way with words!! Merry Christmas to you and your family… Michelle H

Leave a Reply

