Bye bye holiday pounds

Posted: January 19, 2010 in Fitness

I’m sure I’m not the only one who may have put on a couple or five pounds over the holidays.  Well, I’m happy to report that my holiday pounds are gone.  Two weeks of training = 5 lbs weight loss.

I never promise weight loss with any of our programs because without a sensible eating plan as well, working out will only take you so far.  Even though we are increasing our metabolic rate with HIIT training, it still comes down to calories in VS calories out.   So, besides training, I have cleaned up my diet a bit and have taken out all “food that my grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food”.  This great quote is from Food Rules, by Michael Pollen – my new favorite book on nutrition.  Besides losing a few unnecessary pounds, I’ve got more pep in my step. 🙂

Yesterday, Gabriel Varga came in and showed Sandra and I some basic kickboxing moves because I want to incorporate a couple into the circuit.  Sometimes when the gym is open for public training, I see people kicking the bags and even though I know very little about kickboxing, I know enough to know that whatever they are doing probably shouldn’t be done.  That was confirmed yesterday.  Besides learning the front kick, the roundhouse, knee kicks and some basic blocking, I learned this: do not kick anything with your toes – it hurts.

If you don’t know who Gabriel is, google him and you will see how very fortunate we were to have him come in and give us a private session.  It was an absolute blast and a hearty thank you goes out to Gabriel for sharing his time and knowledge with us.

We changed up the circuit yesterday and added a few new challenges.  Hope to see you in this week.

Sandy

Leave a Reply

