Snowboading? At my age?

Posted: February 6, 2010 in Confessions of the CEO, Fitness

Last night, my friend Toni told me that she read an article which claimed that the injury rate for people taking up snowboarding after the age of 40 is 100%.  I’m glad she told me that last night and not yesterday morning, because at the ripe old age of 42, I’m learning how to snowboard.

I don’t know what took me so long.  Maybe I couldn’t reconcile how easy it looks with all the horror stories of bruised tailbones, broken wrists and never getting off the bunny hill.  My husband has been a boarder for years and looks so graceful on the slopes it near makes me cry.  This year my kids decided to take it up, so I figured it was now or never.

We went at Christmas to a small family hill in the interior and all took lessons together.  Now we’re up at Mt. Washington with really nice conditions, and you know – it’s just not as hard as I thought it’d be.  I’ve fallen my fair share of times and have injured my ego several times (mostly whilst getting off the chairlift – apologies to all), but I think I’ve got the hang of it.  I do believe that all the training I do at the gym is paying off here.

That’s the hope, isn’t it?  I don’t train at the gym so I can be strong at the gym, I train so I can keep up with my kids and do all the fun things they do without looking like a total newb.

I’d love to hear whether any of you at the gym are noticing improvements in your extra-curricular activities.  Do share.

Sandy

—  An ammedum.

I woke this morning, Monday, for those who care, thinking about what particular skills we train at the gym that led to my happy success on the snowboard.

Here’s my list:  balance, power, strength, endurance, coordination, the ability to make subtle weight shifts (balance, again), core strength, and agility.  Pretty common athletic skills, but I gotta say I’m stoked to experience first-hand how it all transfers.  This March, I’ll try surfing in Mexico.  Let’s hope I’m just as successful with my endeavors there – at least the wipe-outs won’t hurt as bad.

Peace out.

Leave a Reply

