procrastination and goals

Posted: February 24, 2010 in Confessions of the CEO, Excuses excuses..., Fitness

I’ve totally been procrastinating on my blog.  Here’s why:

It was nice outside.

But now I’m back and focused and the subject of today’s blog is procrastination – (haha).

Anyone who runs a club notices that a lot of people have a hard time keeping to their fitness commitments.  Sometimes I feel like a dentist and not a trainer.  What I mean is when people run into me on the street they automatically feel guilty that they haven’t worked out enough or haven’t eaten well enough or what have you.  That’s tough on a person like me ’cause I really don’t judge but yet I’ve managed to find myself in a position that induces guilt to those who have let their exercise routines lapse.

Here’s my short message to all those people: fitness goals are like any other goals.  I was reminded of SMART goal setting this weekend at a goal setting workshop.

S  – Specific
M – Measurable
A – Attainable
R – Realistic
T – Timely

If any of you are having a hard time meeting your goals, perhaps you need to set SMART goals.  We’d love to help you with that – please ask us how.

As for me, my goal was to write 200 words today.  Done plus 4.

Leave a Reply

