A case for good enough.

Posted: April 8, 2010 in Fitness

I recently read a coach’s opinion — he said that at some point athletes either choose to be average or they choose to be extraordinary.  I thought, this is probably true for everyone – at least in the act of our doing.

But why do we choose mediocrity over brilliance?  Could it be the burden that our success can potentially bring?  If we succeed once, then we have to do it again and again.  But if we’re average – we can be lazy, we can let ourselves off the hook — be tired and human.

Maybe the real problem is all this black and white thinking.  We think we have do it all or we will do nothing.  Trainers see it all the time in fitness.  People are often over-committed to working out (ie. binging) or they’re doing sweet f*ck all and feeling real bad about it.  What ever happened to the middle way?

It really is our mission over here at Hit to Fit to bust through all of this thinking.  We want to help our people to develop a good (at a minimum) base level of fitness so they can enjoy a long healthy and active life.  Good enough to have the flexibility, endurance, strength and power to do the activities they might enjoy.  Good enough to model health to their kids.  Good enough to shoot some hoops, go snowboarding, surfing, dancing, garden and run to the bus. Good enough to feel confident, present and alive in their bodies.  Good enough to do all of this without risking injury.

Reality check:  no one is great at everything they do, but when it comes to health there really is a good enough.  And the good news about good enough:  it’s not that hard to get there.

Comments
  1. Mary Rose says:

    “Maybe the real problem is all this black and white thinking.”

    I have to say that this little blurb opened my eyes quite a bit.

    I have always thought myself to be a black and white thinker. I believe this is why I have been so successful in life, but also, why I have fallen flat on my face at times. To be a perfectionist – an all or nothing person – is to set sometimes unattainable goals for oneself and also, unusally high standards. And again, this can be seen as either a good thing or bad, depending on how the person eventually perceives ‘success and failure’.

    I became certified as a personal trainer some time ago, and immediately became deflated by the way potential clients went from ‘I can!’ to ‘I can’t’ in a heartbeat. The biggest challenge for me was how to convince others to see that in a world of all or nothing, there is a huge middle ground of ‘some’. And every perfectionist must try on myriad ‘somes’ in order to get to their sometimes impossible goals.

    I thought after reading this blurb that the reason we often back out of things that might challenge us is because the very thought of breaking through this ‘black and white’ way of seeing commitment makes most people riddled with anxiety. I know that I often feel more anxious at the thought of fighting, for instance, than by the fight itself. Anticipation and thinking too much can derail even the most determined person.

    But recently, I have learned that even a small and easy workout is better than none at all. It changes the way the mind works. Creates new neural networks, releases endorphins and allows the exerciser to realize that small steps are what makes for a long journey.

    Personally, I need to exercise every day in order to keep balanced and focused. I love it so much and it is like breathing to me. But I listen to my body and only do what my body knows it can do that day. On days when I have the energy and time, I give EVERYTHING I have. On days when I feel low energy and perhaps downtrodden by everyday stress, I start out slow and go from there. Soemtimes I have the biggest breakthrough workouts on these days. The very act of committing to be there for yourself is often times the most amazing benefit of exercising.

    Thanks for this blurb. Amazing writing.

  2. hitgirl says:

    Thanks so much Mary Rose – I don’t know how I missed this comment but I sure appreciate your feedback. Hope all is well in your world, Sister Soldier.

  3. […] competition.  You can decide how fit you want to be.  I’m a very strong proponent of “good enough” when it comes to health.  We have lives to live – some people LOVE moving, some LOVE […]

Leave a Reply

