I’ve recently returned from the ACE Fitness Symposium and my brain hurts a little from all the incredible information and my body hurts so good from all the activity.  I’ve been to many fitness conferences but this may have been the best of them all.  It certainly didn’t hurt that it was 90 degrees poolside.

During the conference, I was reminded of the importance of teaching movement first and muscles second.  I took part in an engaged discussion on why we eat when we’re not hungry.  I listened to one Master Trainer’s view on why motivation isn’t enough.  I also spent a good deal of time considering the direction of Hit to Fit™ and how we can best fulfill our mission of offering an excellent, sustainable, sensible and sufficient fitness program.

A highlight of the symposium was the opening keynote given by a man named Pat Williams – the senior VP of the NBA’s Orlando Magic.  Besides his executive position in the NBA, he is also father to 19 children – including 14 adopted from four nations.  For one year, 16 of his kids were teenagers.  This is a guy who knows how to get it done.

I’d like to share the highlights of Pat’s presentation with you.

10 Qualities of Winners

1.  They have a dream.

  • fear kills dreams (be brave)
  • change kills dreams (adapt)

2. They prepare.

  • failing to prepare is preparing to fail
  • preparation leads to confidence

3.  They focus.

  • lock into your goal
  • if you don’t know what to focus on, then focus on TODAY
  • don’t focus on the past – “the past should be a springboard, not a hammock”  (love that one!)

4.  They have passion.

5.  They work hard.  Really hard.

  • the most dangerous word in the world is entitlement.

6.  They are responsible.

  • the best question to ask is:  “based on my past experience and my future hopes and dreams, what is the wise thing to do?”

7.  They know how to deal with adversity.   We are in one of three positions:

  1. we’ve just come out of the storm
  2. we’re in the storm
  3. we’re heading into the storm
  • In the middle of the storm, those who succeed are asking themselves what they can learn from their situation.  “Don’t waste your suffering.”  (love that one too!)

8.  They persevere.

  • winners just hang on longer

9.  They set specific goals.  (see my post on SMART goals)

  • short-term – one week
  • mid-term – 2-5 months
  • long-term – 3-5 years

10.  They pay attention to the little things.

  • “The closest thing I can come to the key to great success is that it is a lot of little things done well.”

For 5 days I was surrounded by hundreds of people who won’t settle for mediocrity.  Individuals committed to helping people become more active than driving their cars to the grocery store.  Personal Trainers are passionate people, genuinely driven to the betterment of society by empowering the individual.

On that note, I’d like to give a shout out to Sandra Wiebe, Hit to Fit’s head trainer.  Sandra exemplifies the qualities of a winner and a great trainer.  She has been instrumental in the development and execution of our program and has brought her open enthusiasm to work every single day.  She has become a beloved member of many our lives.   Sadly, she will be returning to Winnipeg at the end of November.  We will miss her a great deal and know that she will continue to win in all areas of her life.

With love and in health,

Sandy

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Sandy,

    This is a sad surprise ending. I’m glad the conference was so inspiring but I sure hope you met some amazing folks there because Sandra is leaving behind some pretty big shoes.

    Thank you Sandy & Sandra for all you do to create an excellent, sustainable, sensible and sufficient fitness program. Working out won’t be quite the same without Sandra there dancing beside me.

    As for me, I like this one: the most dangerous word in the world is entitlement. A good manta to remember in our careers and relationships.

    -Kim

    • hitgirl says:

      I appreciate your kind words Kim. Yes, it is a huge loss but thanks to her I know exactly what qualities I am looking for in a trainer. I think everyone is going to miss her boundless enthusiasm. She has such a great spirit.

      Re: the danger of entitlement. It breeds laziness, lack of humility and mediocrity. We live in a culture of entitlement. I personally have a battle with it everyday.

      Thanks for your comment Kim.
      Sandy

Leave a Reply

