Some innovate fitness ideas?

Posted: February 21, 2011 in Fitness

So, as you know, I’ve been thinking a great deal about the future of fitness/health innovations.  Here’s a few that have come to mind:

1. eliminate elevators and escalators except for those who need them.

2. label foods so they mean something to the average consumer  (make serious distinctions between heart attack food and good food).

3. create a Ministry of Fitness – who’s sole purpose is to educate and support.

4. innovate ways of using human power for energy.

Anyone got any more?

In health,

Sandy

Comments
  1. Barry says:

    I’ve got on for you: make the ‘fit choice’ more fun. People go out of their way to have fun, and if that just…happens to be the more healthy choice, win-win! We need to actually invest our energy in making laziness boring. Or rather, more boring than otherwise. Did you ever see that video with the piano staircase?

    I see a huge problem based upon computers and internet access, on this issue. Sorry, I put this on your facebook link and then moved it to here for space. See, people find the computer, sitting at it, to be productive and entertaining. While we can’t alter the internet, and the immense amount of entertainment and data available, we do need to find a way to make it so that kind of access can be ….well, accessed, while moving around! We, as an information society, are NAILED to our chairs if we want to access anything online. And the kids are brought up knowing that online is ‘the only way to do things’, or something like that.

    So we need to have that next jump, to mobile access. We can’t stop the information age, but we can hope it moves forward one more step.

    • Barry says:

      Forgive me for continuing, I’ve been running this through my mind as I walk. I see it as a matter of form and function. Take stairs for example. We’ve created something that has a function: to get us up a level. It is, however, annoying and boring to use, and tends to make us spill what we’re carrying. With an escalator beside it, it’s no wonder that 98% of people would choose the escalator. The only ones who wouldn’t are those who are in a hurry and think the stairs will be faster than waiting in line, or those humble few who love to take stairs (yeah, fitness types).

      See, humans move instinctively toward whatever is easier in their situation. It’s not an insult, but we do have a tendency to think of our own situations first and notice things that help us. Our minds do note what is good for others, but it’s not as automatic as the self-preservation of noting things that are for our immediate self. So we’ve got to get going on changing the form of the basic things we use in life, so that they’re appropriately set to appeal to two things: what will ma

  2. Barry says:

    Sorry, got cut off there. I’m looking at manufacturers who focus on what will sell a car, or a product of any type. New innovations, easier life! There needs to be an industrial change of focus to include healthy living in their target goals, not just ‘sells product’ but ‘sells product and improves lives’. So I’m looking at innovations in the items we use every day, not new inventions that we can add to the list of things we need to buy, I suppose.

    Shuttin up now. 🙂

  3. Kim says:

    Edit to 2. Stop, slow, or discourage production of “heart attack foods”. Seriously, why is this crap so prevalent in our world?

    5. Activity in the workplace. I don’t know how to make this happen, but I dream of the day when employers say, “It’s not healthy for staff to sit for at the computer for 8-12 hours a day. A healthy, active employee is a boon to my organization.”

    6. Conscious, planned development of communities. Why the hell is it ok for people to spend 1-3 hrs a day sitting in their cars to get to/from work? If people can live, work and recreate in one relatively small area, they are more likely to walk or bike to work. The additional time we would have in our days could be used for healthy activities, instead of spent in front of the tv, exhausted, stressed and eating “heart attack foods”.

    7. (This one isn’t innovative at all, but I think it’s one we need to revisit.) Eat like your grandparents did. Eat healthy, real food, sitting down, without distractions, at reasonable times of the day. Not “to go”, not sitting in your car or in front of the tv (or both!).

    Does anyone else think it’s unnecessary that you can buy a cheeseburger at 1am? Perhaps the innovation here could be “Eating establishments should be open during regular eating hours”. I’m sorry if you work night shifts, but considering the only late-night options include fast food, I don’t think you’d really be losing out on this one.

    And I like Barry’s comment about fun fit choices. Did you know that SportBall hosts birthday parties for kids? Why do I remember so many parties at McDonald’s when I was a kid?

    • julie says:

      In my town, you can get Mexican food, Indian food, sushi, sandwiches, anything you want until 2-3 am. Maybe suburbia is different, but cities are sometimes open late. Most suburbs I’ve been in lately, other than the very wealthy ones, have nothing but fast food at any hour of the day.

  4. hitgirl says:

    I love you guys and all your outrage. We should be outraged. Hopefully it’ll motivate us to make some changes.

    I can say that the fitness industry has caught on to the fun part – that’s the focus of most fitness conferences and certainly a strong focus at our gym. Even though I own a gym, I like to think that gyms are here to hold the space until were renew a more organic fit lifestyle. We shouldn’t be the sole provider of movement.

    Yes, yes and yes to you both. Preaching to converted I see.

    Sandy

  5. Coach Dion says:

    I work on the 10th floor and take the stairs, some lunchtime I go out with a friend and we take the lift, and I see people getting on at 4 and off at 6…

    number 4 love the idea, hook up your bike to a turbine at the gym and power the treadmills…

  6. hitgirl says:

    Coach Dion – hey you’re all the way in South Africa! How nice of you to stop by! My husband and I have always said it would be totally amazing to have a fitness facility that uses the power of movement to power the facility. Now that’s innovative!!

    As for escalators – I’m sure you’ve seen this picture. True Story Coach Dion.

  7. Kim says:

    I listened to an interview with actor and environmentalist Ed Begley today. His stationary bike is rigged up to generate power. 15 minutes of hard riding generates enough power to make toast, or power a computer or light bulb for the day.

    I vote that Hit to Fit capitalize on the energy output of their clients! I would be happy to contribute.

    Read about Ed Begley here: http://www.lowdensitylifestyle.com/an-exclusive-interview-with-ed-begley-jr-part-1/

Leave a Reply

