ch-ch-ch-changes.

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Boxing, Confessions of the CEO, Fitness
Tags:


Dear Readers, my last post was a month ago – my last post of any relevance was well over a month (some would say even longer!).  I’ve missed writing but couldn’t put two words together for awhile there.

I’ll bring you up to speed.  Since notice of our ‘forced move’ which came in mid-February, I’ve been consumed with what the hell I was going to do with my gym, program, clients, trainers, boxers and myself.  After two (what felt like really stupid) months, I closed the gym I’d been running for three years and moved my signature fitness program into GoodLife Fitness.  I closed my gym, Capital City Boxing (though the company will remain strong and fierce!!) and I ultimately chose my second creation over my first.   It felt a little like Sophie’s Choice and there have been a lot of tears and sleepless nights.

I loved Capital City Boxing.  I loved going in to work.  I loved EVERYONE that came in to the club and I think there have been thousands.  It was a place I could live out my bliss – doing work that I believed in – work that brought me closer to who I wanted to be.  It was a place that I first created but then quickly co-created with a great many people.  For me, it was a sweet little corner of the universe – a little Utopia in the ‘Ghetto’ (haha) of Victoria.

Here are some of the nuggets that came out of Capital City Boxing:

Everyone is special.  Hard to believe – but it’s TRUE!

We are all warriors.

We all want to TRUST ourselves but many people can’t hear their own voice.

We want to be FREE to be WHO WE ARE.

We discover who we are by doing what feels right and what we believe is right.  Sometimes people will disagree with our choices… so what?

Making mistakes is a GOOD thing!  It means you’re trying.

Forgiveness is a GREAT thing!  It means you’ll keep trying!

Gratitude is stronger than a wicked right hook.

For most of us, physical fitness corresponds to mental fitness.

Getting into the ring will teach you more about yourself than hundreds of hours of therapy and self-help books.  If you choose to engage in conflict with awareness – it’s a one way ticket to immediate (though not always long-lasting) self-knowledge.

Accountability will earn you respect.

The mirror is magic.  It distorts, inspires and upsets.  But it only reflects what is in the eye of the viewer.

Decide what you want.  Set a goal and a strategy and go for it.  Evolve, renew and repeat.

Exhale on the exertion.

It starts with your feet.  Terra Firma baby.

We may not all be boxers, but we can all develop the spirit of a boxer.

We may have lots of people in our corner, but when we enter the ring, they can’t come with us.

The world is a damn big ring and it’s going to knock you around.  If you are going to be self-sovereign – expect a fight.  If you are going to try to please everyone – expect a fight.  If you want to find middle ground – expect a fight.  Build your strategy based on your successes, your failures and trusted advisers.  Expect to be humbled and keep moving.

And finally, play your game – not anyone else’s.

In health, Sandy

Comments
  1. Heidi says:

    Beautifully said, Sandy.
    The ending photo make me tear up a bit…

  2. Hey Sandi –

    It is indeed sad that Capital City Boxing is gone as a venue, and I hope that as a community you find ways and means of coming together and making things happen. While I’m totally happy that Hit to Fit has found a way to move forward, I know that you are a boxer, and that CCB was very close to your heart.

    Yes, we have GoodLife, and a good life. Keep on blogging about boxing, and fitness, and giving it your all please 🙂

    • hitgirl says:

      Many thanks Catherine. I’m thrilled about the direction my work has taken – in case there was any question. 🙂 Thankful for all the gifts I’m taking with me.

  3. WOW! What a great piece of writing. Well said Sandy.

    David

  4. Jessica says:

    Nice post, Sandy. Nice to see the blog back.

    One of the recent status updates on the HittoFit facebook page said, “We who make the most mistakes often reign supreme. Watch us stumble, fall and rise our way to success!” Well like you say above, “Making mistakes is a GOOD thing; it means you’re trying!” Well I believe those who do manage to find success after making the most mistakes are somehow able (and highly capable I might add) at turning these so called “problems” into opportunities. And it is OPPORTUNITY that I’m really trying to highlight here in my reply because it isn’t the mistakes per se that matter-neither in number or severity that matter, but rather the way that we deal with them. Let’s face it, they aren’t mistakes anymore if we are able to learn and grow from them; they only remain mistakes if we get stuck in them!

    Sandy, what I see was someone who had an eagle’s eye for opportunity. And thank heavens for that because HittoFit means a lot to me personally as I’m sure it does for many others. I’m very happy with the new space. Love the above pic too even if it brings on a bit of sadness…

    • hitgirl says:

      Thanks Jessica – all those ‘cliches’ about problems being opportunities are true. Those who succeed are the ones who don’t quit – that’s the special sauce. I’m happy with the new space too – enjoying being a part of something bigger.

Leave a Reply

