What are you training for?

Posted: May 27, 2011 in Fitness
Tags:

People often think that January is the busiest time of year for fitness studios, but it’s really May and June.  The threat of bathing suit season prompts many people to rush to the gym to find quick relief to their unwanted jiggles.  Same as the New Year, we’re happy to see newcomers anytime and we hope that they will continue to train with us for many months and years to come.

Short term training goals are great to kick start a fitness program, but they often bring short term results.  If the goal is to lose 10 pounds by July – it’s likely you’ll see them back by December.  So I ask – what are your long-term training goals?  As in the next 10, 20, 30, 40, 60 years?

Me?  I’m training to be able to throw my great grandbaby up in the air and catch him/her.  After doing the math, that’d put me around 90.  In order to be able to throw a child in the air and catch her, I’d need triple flexion in my legs (ankles, knees and hips), a strong core, strong arms, accuracy, power, hand eye coordination and the ability to decelerate – to name but a few.   If I sit on my duff from age 45 to 89 – I don’t think I’ll be able to pull this off.  And yes, it may be an unlikely goal.  But, if I start training now and I don’t stop, I might be able to do it (as long as my kids and grand kids do their part).

In health and with love,

Sandy

Comments
  1. Jessica says:

    Good question!! Like you, I want to keep as much movement in my life that I can as I grow older. Only makes sense….movement can come in handy for um let’s see….oh yeah EVERYTHING! haha

    For me, I want to see and explore as much as I can well into my old age! I would like be able to climb hills, traverse trails, paddle in the water and carry stuff on my back for hikes and foraging sessions. For many years the tundra plains and the undulating city streets of San Francisco have tugged at my heart. And no, a helicopter ride into Yukon Territory or taking a trolly in San fran won’t do (although they would be fun) no….. I like to move around using my own propulsive power because it’s the best way to see all the lovely little details.

    I’m sure that I would have lots more going on in my life by then, but if my life turns out to be anything like it is now, then I know that these excursions (to something as simple to the city park and beyond) is very important to my sense of well-being.

  2. hitgirl says:

    Jess – nice… 🙂

Leave a Reply

