2012! Let’s get metaphysical.

Posted: January 11, 2012 in Confessions of the CEO, Fitness
Tags: , , , ,

The sun is streaming into the kitchen.  Great tunes are playing on the stereo.  I just finished my workout.  It’s 2012 and I’m preparing for Rapture.  I’ve lived through a few doomsday predictions, but none has caught my fancy quite like 2012.  This one, this so called quickening, or awakening, the great shift, ascension – this time, this one – I really want to believe it’s gonna happen.

The last 200 years has been a crazy time for us humans.  We’ve been so hyperactive that we impetuously reinvented the entire fabric of our social world.  From steam engines to iPhones.  Isn’t that amazing?  I live in awe.

But… I don’t think we’re gonna keep up this pace.  I don’t think it’s possible – or healthy.  I think we need some time to step back and process everything that we’ve done.  I don’t know where all this drive came from – certainly not from the likes of me – but the few who have been doing the driving should stop.  And the many who have been going along for the ride should get out of the car.  Walk around.  Stretch.  Talk awhile.  Let’s take a deep collective breathe.  Then let’s get some lunch and start asking ourselves some tough questions.

Are you in agreement with what you see before you?  Are you happy with the expectations/limitations that surround your life?  Do you think there’s something fundamentally wrong with the way you are?  If so, who or what gave you that idea?  As a culture – what are our core beliefs?  How obligated are we to the past?  What have we been convincing each other to believe?  Can we trust ourselves or do we need society to set the boundaries?  To what extent?  If you had the power to live your life on your own terms, what would that look like?  Where does the power to do that come from?

I love the occupy movement.  The most common negative response I’ve heard goes something like: “what do they even want? they should just get a f’ing job.”  To be honest, I don’t know what they (or you) want, but I understand that it’s not what’s been put before them.  With all the din of the last century – all those leaf blowers, fax machines, and trucks driving in reverse – how can any of us really know what we want (please read: I’m-overwhelmed for more on that).  But I’ve had a lot of conversations lately and I hear people say – I don’t know what I want, but it’s not this.

It’s fine not to have the answers – it’s even better to ask the pertinent questions.  I want to believe that this is the year that we will collectively examine all of our assumptions – all our biases and beliefs.  I want 2012 to be the year of The Great Decluttering of our Minds.  The year of Metaphysical Fitness.  The year of Occupy Yourself.  Let’s start with an open curiosity into our own workings and desires then move lovingly forward from there.

Who’s in?

Sandy

Comments
  1. Janni Aragon says:

    Great points, Sandy. You have to be willing to change and engage! And, yes, I think many of the #OWS people/supporters do not want the status quo.

  2. hitgirl says:

    Thanks Janni – we haven’t advanced our social norms in relation to the technological advancements. I believe it’s time for a culling.

  3. Jessica says:

    I want to share with you a small portion of one of my favourite books. I believe the first part of the quote relates to Hit to Fit’s early core philosophy which was (is?) “The real match is between who we think we are, who we really are, and who we want to become”. The second part of the quote relates to how, as you said, we should “occupy yourself”. I believe a big part of the occupy movement is a distaste for the dependency – or in other words, a lack of self reliance – in our lives created in part through capitalist economic system.

    Anyway, here is the quote:

    >>”Before we can change our life to a more positive experience, we must challenge anything that is not working in our lives. This allows us to start building that bridge between where we are now and where we would like to be, and from what we are now to what we would like to become.

    The first reason for man’s inner slavery is his ignorance, and above all, his ignorance of himself. Without self-knowledge, without understanding the workings and function of his machine, man cannot be free, he cannot govern himself and he will always remain a slave, the plaything of forces acting upon him. This is why all ancient teachins at the beginning of the way to liberation was to “Know Thyself”. “<< – Robert Anthony (The Ultimate Secrets to Total Self Confidence, 1986 p:17)

    [please look beyond the machine metaphors and androcentric language in the quote!!, thanks!]

  4. Jessica says:

    I don’t want to make this into a discussion about the occupy movement but I believe the Occupiers are opposed to the lawless and destructive greed in the financial industry and the increasing gap between the rich and the rest. It sickens me that financial instruments were created and manipulated to deliberately defraud people.

    Getting back to your post, you raise some very important questions. All of them make me think, Sandy. This one struck me the most: “Do you think there’s something fundamentally wrong with the way you are? If so, who or what gave you that idea?” because I feel that many people subscribe to the idea that there is something “innately” wrong with humans, as if there is something in our “nature” to explain the way we are. Like we are greedy, warlike animals (I don’t believe this, personally). The belief that this is who we fundamentally are only serves to give us a pass to continue to do it. We need to challenge many of our core beliefs and values.

    lol, I always have so much to say. Your post brings up so many points of discussion. Great post, Sandy

  5. hitgirl says:

    Jessica – thank you so much for your thoughtful responses to this! I’ve been considering them over the last week. This is a very rich topic. Dependency, self-knowledge, community and “progress”. It’s so very easy to go with the tide – I have a suspicion however that the majority of us want a sea change. Thanks Jess.

Leave a Reply

