Misconceptions

Posted: October 22, 2012 in Fitness

HI!  I’m back!  Hope all y’all had a great summer.  I managed to be in hot sunny weather for 3 months and enjoyed myself immensely.  All that’s over now – winter is stealing summer’s warm embrace – but the change of seasons offer a change in perspective and winter is an especially great time for reflection.

It’s also a great time to be in the gym.  It’s warm and cosy and if you train with us, always interesting.  Hit to Fit is running at Fierce Studio – a martial arts club offering both Yoga and Jiu Jitsu.  This week we introduced (or re-introduced) somersaults – Jiu Jitsu style.  I have to admit to a great deal of apprehension around this movement.  I get a little dizzy – and for whatever reason – they intimidate me.  This morning over breakfast I mentioned to the kids that I get dizzy from somersaults.  My 13-year-old son laughed so hard he almost spat out his toast.  Yeah, well – thanks for your support.  Nice pimples.

It can be hard to try new things.  There was a lot of apprehension at the gym this morning because this current circuit is more technical than most and most of us adults HATE looking like we don’t know what we’re doing.  Sadly, as a result – it means that we often don’t challenge ourselves.

One of the funniest things I hear is this – “I plan on coming to see you, but I want to get in shape first.”  I’m always gobsmacked when I hear it.  I can understand wanting to get in shape before you try snowboarding, mountain climbing,  joining a basketball team, or running a marathon (though I’ll NEVER understand the desire) – but getting in shape for an activity that is DESIGNED to get you in shape – that’s just crazy talk.

However, I do appreciate that some folks may look at images of some of our clients and think – well I can’t do that.  And that be the case.  I can’t do everything either and I designed the program.  But any trainer worth the price of admission is very adept at making modifications and Hit to Fit designs all of our workouts for every body.  That isn’t to say that everyone will do each exercise the exact same way – we progress and modify based on your goals, abilities, previous injuries – hell, we even modify for the mood you’re in.  And you might surprise yourself one day and surpass the highest bar we’ve set.  Yes, you.

That’s not me – and may never be – but WAY TO GO KATEY!

So, if you have a ‘friend’ who’s waiting to start a fitness program until they miraculously get into shape without one – please forward them this blog.

In health, Sandy

PS –

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    i think we should call them ‘ninja rolls,’ not somersaults. also, lol re the pimples comment.

  2. hitgirl says:

    Ninja rolls – yes!!

  3. rabax4rabax4 says:

    I too love the “pimples” comment and may have to use that in the future. Ninja Rolls tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

