I resolve to…

Posted: December 31, 2012 in Fitness

Happy New Year’s dear readers.  I hope wherever this finds you that you are warm, healthy and with those you love.

2012 was a big year for many of us, but it didn’t come through with the cataclysmic changes we were promised (or hoped for).  Most people I spoke to claimed not to give the 2012 hype much merit, but I argue that the collective unconscious did – and that as a whole – we really were hoping for some kind of shift.  Of course, I can only speak for myself – and yeah, I was hoping.

I hoped that on December 21st, I’d wake up and no longer judge myself and those around me.  I hoped that I’d wake up and have been released from fear, anxiety and the daily onslaught of negative thinking.  I hoped I’d wake up and feel free to express love and gentle kindness to everyone around me. I’d hoped to awaken free from any slights from the past.  I wanted to wake up having shed all the patterned thoughts that stood in my way of eternal peace and happiness.  I wanted to wake up free, conscious, and in a constant state of love.

And then the day happened.  When I woke up everything was the same.  Common sense knew it would be – but still, I’d hoped.  The heavens didn’t open and I didn’t ascend.  And so, I’m left with the begrudging acceptance and understanding that if I want this kind of peace, it’ll take resolve and a life of dedication.

As a fitness professional, I’ve received a lot of clients because of New Year’s resolutions.  I wish I could say that resolving to lose 10, 20, 30 pounds and working out 5 days/week will make you happy.  At they very least, I wish I could say that it won’t hurt – but if self-hatred is the driver of those resolutions they will hurt – especially when three weeks later you lose your resolve and gain back your losses.

So let’s think about this a little differently this year.  What kind of world do you want to live in?  What kind of mood do you want to be in?  What kind of resolutions can you make to take you there?

With love and in health,

Sandy

calvin-and-hobbes-on-new-year-resolutions_1338542678_epiclolcom

Leave a Reply

